♥ DIY – Sandalwood & Turmeric Face Mask ♥

Today I will share with you a face mask my aunt taught me.

YOU NEED:

1 tsp Honey

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp cinnamon powder (optional)

½ tsp Turmeric Powder (Kasthuri Turmeric)

½ tsp Red Sandalwood Powder

Rose water as required

Yoghurt (optional) – Use if the burning sensation from turmeric gets too much for you. Especially sensitive and dry skinned beauties

DIRECTION:

At first I mix and apply the lemon juice honey  and cinnamon mask, I wait for 20 minutes. When my aunt taught me it was just lemon juice and honey, but I added in cinnamon for extra benefit to my skin as I have talked in my ‘honey cinnamon face mask for pimples post’.  Adding cinnamon here is optional.

592a9-slide11

I mix the rest of the ingredients together to form a slightly runny paste. Yogurt is added especially for dry skinned people. Then I apply this turmeric-sandalwood mask above the honey lemon mask. If you ask me why it is done this way, I have no idea! This is how my aunt taught me and it is how I have done it always. Leave it on for another 20 minutes and rinse with lukewarm water. Give a final rinse with cold water. You might have to use a cleanser to get rid of the yellow stain from turmeric.  To keep it all natural, you could use chickpea flour and water paste instead of cleanser.

20140126_131215 20140126_131304

Red Sandalwood helps to have clear and glowing skin. It makes skin soft and reduces scars and blemishes. It also helps against dry flaky skin.

Kasthuri Turmeric is only used in cosmetic purposes. It is also called as Wild turmeric. This is different from the one we use in foods. It is grown more in the Southern Asian Countries. It has anti-oxidants, anti-inflammatory, anti-septic and anti-bacterial properties. The yellow pigment in the turmeric makes the skin brighter. It also helps in removing facial hair and pimple marks, when used for a longer time.Rose water helps to hydrate, revitalize, moisturize, tone and calm skin. The anti-oxidant properties help strengthen skin cells and keep wrinkles at bay.

Yogurt contains lactic acid, an alpha hydroxy acid that helps to smooth rough, dry skin and prevent premature aging such as fine lines, wrinkles and age spots. Lactic acid helps to dissolve dead skin that accumulates in the pores, causing a dull and cakey appearance and aids in closing large pores, making skin look younger. Yogurt has a mild bleaching effect on the skin when used over time. Skin that is blotchy and damaged due to environmental factors, such as too much sun exposure, can achieve a more even skin tone with a plain yogurt face mask.

I used to apply these two masks daily during my teens. It used to keep my pimples at bay and refresh my tired skin after school. During college time I got lazy and started doing less of this until I stopped completely. Of late, I have noticed how worn out and tired my skin looks. Office work, 8hrs straight in front of system in air-conditioned office, lack of proper care was all taking its toll on my skin.

Now I have started using this again since one week. DAILY! I can feel my skin has refreshed and brightened up again.

 Hope you benefit from this.

 ♥ Abidha Basheer ♥

2 thoughts on “♥ DIY – Sandalwood & Turmeric Face Mask ♥

  1. What a lovely post, Abi!. Looks like such a lovely mask especially the second one. Btw, isnt using lemon juice everyday a bit too harsh on the skin?. It acts as a bleach.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It depends on each skin type. For some it mightt be too much to use daily. I used it daily and it was fine on my skin.

      Like

Love to read your feedback, enquiries and opinions. Leave them down here and I will get back to you asap! Good Day!